Machine Learning

Moving from Python to R: How to Build a Simple Regression Model

A quick tutorial on how to get started with Machine Learning in R

Angelica Lo Duca
Geek Culture
Published in
4 min readMar 20, 2022

--

Photo by Joshua Reddekopp on Unsplash

My preferred programming language is Python because it is very simple. I know people without a degree in Computer Science programming very well in Python, and this demonstrates that Python is for everyone.

Anyway, I have read on various social media posts about the great potential offered by R, both for statistical calculations and for Machine Learning and Data Science in general. Thus, combined with the fact that I’m very curious and open to learning new things, I decided to implement a simple Machine Learning model in R.

This article shows the results of my experiment. The article is organized as follows:

  • R installation
  • Linear Regression in R

1 R installation

Firstly, I need to install R. It is very simple. I can download it from the official website. I choose the version compatible with my operating system, and then I install them.

Secondly, I need an Editor. You can use Jupyter, as I usually do for Python or another editor. If you want to use Jupyter, you need to install the kernel, as…

--

--

Angelica Lo Duca
Geek Culture

Researcher | +50k monthly views | I write on Data Science, Python, Tutorials, and, occasionally, Web Applications | Book Author of Comet for Data Science