My story of becoming a Web Developer at 17

Vlad Mihet
Geek Culture
Published in
12 min readMay 8, 2021

--

freepik.com

Being a developer is some pretty serious work, especially considering that you have to keep track of so many projects, functionalities, that everything should look good, the database queries should provide all the data needed, be efficient, then the backend has to send this data to the client fast and efficiently as well, so yeah, this being only the tip of the iceberg. But to get to the beginning of everything, I’ll give you a brief introduction about myself;

I am Vlad, an 18 years old web developer that has started his journey in the world of programming at just 14. Living in Romania, we have a certain choice when going into high school; that being the certain specialty we want to graduate with; for me, it was Math & Computer Science. We started off with the more complex C++, which was the language chosen in order for us to learn about Data Structures, Algorithms, Efficiency, etc. Fast forward 3 years and as I got bored and tired of the more basic DS and Algorithms, I thought to myself: “Is this really all that programming really is? Just the never-ending types of data structures and algorithms?”, and after that, I started looking around for some more insight into what it really is; starting off into this ‘adventure of finding the true meaning behind programming’ I quickly found about Python, which actually matched my expectations of how much mystery and awesomeness…

--

--

Vlad Mihet
Geek Culture

Founder of Deviant | Driving innovation in Romania's Tech, Financial, and Mobility spaces. https://www.deviant-solutions.com/