Reimagining the future of education with web3

Anya Singh
Geek Culture
Published in
14 min readFeb 15, 2022

--

I saw this cartoon on the internet the other day.

by Schultz

It got me thinking about the role of education in our societies and the promise of learning real-world skills designed to make students successful in our ever-changing world (obviously, that’s the first thought I had 😅).

The most interesting part of this isn’t the cartoon — but the teacher in the Charlie Brown comics who’s represented as a sort of faceless, emotionless, monotone monster who’s out to make the kids suffer. School is seen as some kind of prison where students are forced to learn and do work against their will and still…. never get the answers they’re looking for.

Recently, I came across some very interesting ideas in the future of education enabled by web3 and blockchain (owing to Wes Kao and Vriti Saraf on Twitter).

Contributing to the integration of web3 in education, I created a web app to store verifiable credentials like diplomas and degrees on the blockchain with NFTs. But, before I get into that, why does this even matter? What’s wrong with education and…

--

--