Retrieve the best out of Generative models — Future Needs

Sujay Kapadnis
Geek Culture
Published in
4 min readFeb 10, 2023

ChatGPT can give me anything if I know how to get the best out of it. It could be huge.

After the release of models like ChatGPT, DALL-E, and MidJourney future of Tech jobs, Media jobs, Finance jobs, and many more frontline industries is left hanging. Because these models are capable of replacing a human being. It can be considered that ChatGPT can perform the same tasks that a software engineer does with some suitable transformed implementation, right?

If that’s the case I will definitely replace my employees with the model because it will save me a lot of money which I can reinvest. But what is this transformed implementation that I mentioned earlier? Well, that’s the topic of today’s discussion: Prompt Engineering.

Fig.1 Source: https://docs.cohere.ai/docs/prompt-engineering

What is prompt?

The questions that you ask the model whose answer you desire from the model can be called a prompt. It is the input that you provide, easy right?

Importance of Prompts

You might be thinking, I can get whatever I want from the model anyways then what’s so special about it? and I also don’t deny it is not wrong but also not correct and there will be a hell of a difference between the information that you gathered and a prompt engineer gathered if assigned to do so on the same topic. How so, let me explain that a prompt engineer is a person who specializes in retrieving the best info from the model by creating optimum prompts.

Photo by Amy Hirschi on Unsplash

Elements of a Prompt

  1. Instructions
  2. Question
  3. Input Data
  4. Example

Instructions and questions are necessary requirements for generating an output the remaining two elements are optional, include them or not your choice.

Uses of Prompt Engineering

  1. Using Instructions and Examples

Prompt: I like the shows like Friends, Big Bang Theory, and Game of Thrones. suggest to me some shows that I may like

Source: ChatGPT

2. Getting accurate data from reliable sources

ChatGPT has been trained on a lot of data available on the internet and you might know not all the data is reliable. Many times' responses generated from the model come from unreliable resources which I advise you not to use. To overcome this problem let's look at the following prompt.

How does venture capital works? Use only reliable sources, cite those resources, and also include some references

Source: ChatGPT

3. Checking for incorrect information and rephrasing

How to learn prompt engineering, include wrong information

Source: ChatGPT

Is there any incorrect information in this article, also rephrase the article in simple words <Above Output>

Source: ChatGPT

4. Funny Side of Promp Engineering

I asked ChatGPT to pose as Chandler Bing from Friends and answer the question and here’s how it went.

Source: ChatGPT

After this, I asked it to pose as a rude person but it denied that one, and here’s how it responded.

Source: ChatGPT

All right guys, this is it for this article see you in the next one.

❤❤❤ Follow for more❤❤❤

Connect on LinkedIn

Want to know more:

  1. https://docs.cohere.ai/docs/prompt-engineering
  2. https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/prompt-engineering-101-introduction-resources-amatriain/

Quick Question for you: Are the results I am expecting aligned with the habits I am following each day?

--

--

Sujay Kapadnis
Geek Culture

There's a writer in my heart, I am just a medium through which he communicates with you. Make sure you appreciate it.https://www.buymeacoffee.com/sujaykapadnis