Setup Your Own Virtual Computer Lab with Oracle VirtualBox

Jonathan Ingram
Geek Culture
Published in
8 min readJun 8, 2021

--

Have you ever wanted to try out a new operating system, but you didn’t want to blow away your hard drive and start over? Discover an awesome piece of software, but you were unsure of the author or how it would interact with your workflow? Maybe you work in IT, or you’re interested in IT, and you want to learn about Active Directory, SCCM, PowerShell, and Group Policy, but you don’t have space or the budget for a full server rack at home.

With virtual machines, you can tackle all of these scenarios with ease. All you need is a computer with decent hardware and the willingness to learn and break things.

When I got started with virtual machines, I was interested in Cyber Security and Malware Analysis. I would set up a virtual machine, make sure it was isolated from my network, and then infect the virtual computer with malware to see what would happen. If I infected my daily computer with malware, it wouldn’t end well. With virtual machines, I can try new things, break stuff, and rewind to a previous state via snapshots and start all over again. One of the easiest ways to get started with virtual machines is to download Oracle VirtualBox.

Oracle VirtualBox is a free tool you can use to create and manage virtual machines without deleting your current operating system. Your current operating system…

--

--

Jonathan Ingram
Geek Culture

I’m a seasoned IT professional with a love for writing, programming, and storytelling.