Should I Learn Java or Python?

Why take the long path if we can take a shortcut?

Anderson Carvalho
Geek Culture

--

Should I learn Java or Python?
Should I learn Java or Python?

Many abandon the software engineering field because they find programming too difficult. The choice of the first programming language can determine whether you like the profession or not. “Should I learn Java or Python?” is a very good question.

My first programming experience

I started programming at a young age. That was in the late 90s. At that time, I was an electrician’s apprentice in an elevator factory. Even though I didn’t understand a line of code, I got amazed when an electrical engineer programmed the elevator using C language.

For me, programming was something esoteric. In my country, when we see a text we can’t understand we say “it looks like Greek”. It can be due to the distance between the Portuguese and Greek languages. I never confirmed the true reason. But yes, that seemed “Greek”! The day I discovered what we can do with a programming language got deeply recorded in my memory.

Programming in the college — Pascal, Java, and C

Some years later, my next experience with programming was using Pascal, already at the college. At that time, all colleges taught programming using pseudo-language and Pascal. Pascal was a…

--

--