Should You Get a Computer Science Masters Degree?

The important questions to ask yourself to find out if it’s right for you

Madison Schott
Geek Culture
Published in
5 min readOct 17, 2021

--

Photo by Elisa Calvet B. on Unsplash

I have a confession. I lasted about a month in a computer science master's program before quitting. That took a lot of strength for me to do and for me to even admit right now.

Sometimes you just know when something isn’t right for you. That was the case for me. Being type A, I wanted to chug through the program in my misery just for the sake of completing it. But then I realized, why? What’s the point? Our time is valuable and I would just be throwing mine away.

While part of the issue is that I didn’t want to learn as much “computer science” as I originally thought, I also just think the curriculums these schools follow are extremely outdated. Sure, you are learning. If you’re taught any information, you’re bound to learn.

But is this the most optimal way to learn computer science? Is it worth all of the time and money to follow a certain curriculum, achieve high grades, and graduate 5 years later?

Here’s what I would consider after my failed stunt with my master's. Use this to guide your decision on whether a master's is right for you and your goals. While it may have not been right for me, you could have completely different interests…

--

--

Madison Schott
Geek Culture

Analytics Engineer @ ConvertKit, author of the Learn Analytics Engineering newsletter and The ABCS of Analytics Engineering ebook, health & wellness enthusiast