The Data Scraper Series

The Facebook and Twitter Scraping Guide

Get any data from your favorite social media into your data frame using Twint and Facebook-Scraper

Manfye Goh
Geek Culture
Published in
4 min readJun 28, 2021

--

Photo by Cristian Dina from Pexels

Social media are rich in data, especially data for sentiment analysis, competitor analysis, and even topic research. Twitter and Facebook are the two major treasure islands in the eye of data scientists, getting the data from there is a piece of essential knowledge for a data scientist or researcher.

Problems of using official API

I had tried to obtain an official API from both social media companies, the problem with using official API is there are too many restrictions for using it. Twitter official ask me to answer a paragraph long answer on how I going to use the API (I can’t tell them I just want to explore the API for future usage), Whereas for Facebook, they only provide these API for a legit company.

Some commercial solutions available out there required you to pay and I can’t afford that, so I decided to find some reliable python library to achieve my desired outcome.

This article will share the method I used to obtain data from these 2 social media using the python package as my tools, namely Twint and Facebook-Scraper

--

--

Manfye Goh
Geek Culture

Pharmacist | Software Engineer | Data Scientist | 🇲🇾 | Join me on Medium: https://manfyegoh.medium.com/membership