The State Of Progressive Web Apps Adoption By Developers In 2021

David Dal Busco
Geek Culture
Published in
6 min readJun 22, 2021

--

Photo by Monica Sauro on Unsplash

For the second year in a row, I ran some polls on Twitter about the relationship between developers and Progressive Web Apps.

Are PWA preached or adopted by developers? Do they use these on mobile and desktop? Do they develop these even if their support on iOS is not optimal? Do they think Apple will ever implement Web Push Notifications?

Here are some interesting facts and figures resulting of the new edition of my surveys.

Limitation

I am not a statistician nor an expert in the redaction and interpretation of polls. In addition, the surveys happened on Twitter, therefore the answers were given by the people within my reach.

For such reasons, please do interpret following figures and comments as information, not facts.

Note also I am an Open Source and Progressive Web Apps aficionado. I will try my best to remain impartial in my writing 😉.

58% Of The Developers Do Not Use Installed PWA On Mobile

I am using on a daily basis the Progressive Web Apps of DEV.to and Twitter. That’s why I was firstly interested in the question of adoption regarding the usage on mobile devices.

--

--