What Companies REALLY Want in an Analytics Engineer

Madison Schott
Geek Culture
Published in
7 min readJan 28, 2022

--

I looked at all the top job postings and this is what I found.

Photo by Magnet.me on Unsplash

If you’re reading this article, you may have narrowed down your career options and decided that you want to be an analytics engineer. You love data and problem-solving and want to work with both engineering and business teams. You have great communication skills and are always ready to learn. You feel prepared to start applying to jobs but you don’t know what companies want to see on your resume.

Applying to jobs, especially on LinkedIn, can be daunting. Companies list the years of experience they prefer, the fancy degree you need to have, and the many technologies they want you to know. Often times it can feel like you will never have enough skills to make it to the next round of interviews. I’ve been there too. But, if you never take a shot, you’re guaranteed to never have the role you want.

I’ve looked through many job postings while I was looking for an analytics engineer role for myself. I also have a few months of experience interviewing for similar data analyst roles. I can tell you what most companies are looking for in terms of experience and technologies.

What technologies do I need to know?

SQL

--

--

Madison Schott
Geek Culture

Analytics Engineer @ ConvertKit, author of the Learn Analytics Engineering newsletter and The ABCS of Analytics Engineering ebook, health & wellness enthusiast