What happens underneath GraphQL Federated API

Supratim Samanta
Geek Culture
Published in
4 min readJun 25, 2021

--

I am really fascinated to work with GraphQL federated API. Recently I was building a code generation framework which can generate actual compilable and deploy-able code in Java and which connect to each other automatically be means of GraphQL Federation API.

For this to really shine I needed to have a very deep understanding on how GrahQL works and what is actually going underneath.

In this post I will discuss on what go in the life-cycle of a federated GraphQL API. We will take a very simple Federated GraphQL API built with NodeJS and intercept it’s traffic with HTTP Toolkit.

You can follow along with me every step and I promise the end result will be delicious. We will get to know how the Gateway queries all the attached services.

The project is hosted at:

In a Federated GraphQL service, the responsibillity of the gateway is to

  1. Consolidate all the component GraphQL service schema structures.
  2. Validate all the services by doing a query and making sure…

--

--

Supratim Samanta
Geek Culture

300K+views 🙏🏼#Unconventional #ProblemSolver #Tech #Dev #Productivity . Join my fascinating journey.🕺 Support me at https://susamn.medium.com/membership