What We Discovered About The Odoo Inline Editable Tree View

Better than the discovery itself, we learned a valuable lesson in problem solving

Felix Otoo
Geek Culture

--

Photo by Canva Studio

I recently assigned a new ticket to a colleague to improve the user behavior on a tree view embedded inside a form view.

After a while, he approached me with reports of a blocker implementing what should have been a straightforward update. He could not achieve the expected inline editing behavior on the tree view even after introducing the construct editable=top|bottom on the tree.

He was stumped because he had implemented this very behavior on other modules in the past.

Talking to senior colleague

He approached me after several failed attempts to draw a conclusion on why a so commonly implemented feature like turning a tree view into an inline editable tree view.

My initial impression was what? How could such a simple implementation be giving you such a tough time? Let me take a look at what you have done.

I examined his changes and it’s exactly what I would have done in this case.

  • First locate the tree view definition
  • Introduce on the tree element the editable attribute with the value top

--

--