Why are Developers Stressed Out?

Dino Cajic
Geek Culture
Published in
6 min readMay 24, 2022

--

Dino Cajic explaining developer stress

I worked with hundreds of developers over the last 15 years. The one thing that they all had in common, myself included, is stress. I was about 5 years into my development career when I felt so stressed that I knew it would soon start affecting my health. I was able to reflect and cope with it, mainly through books such as “Don’t Stress the Small Stuff and It’s All Small Stuff” and “The Mindfulness Solution.” Those 2 books changed my life.

View this article and others on my website.

There are many legitimate reasons why developers feel stressed:

  • Deadlines
  • Legacy Applications
  • New Programming Language/Framework
  • Poor Project Manager
  • Speaking with Difficult Clients

These are all legitimate reasons that developers feel stress. Deadlines are always present. Sometimes you’re working on multiple projects with deadlines approaching for each. There’s never a time for a break. It definitely depends on the environment, but agencies are definitely filled with…

--

--

Dino Cajic
Geek Culture

Author of An Illustrative Introduction to Algorithms. IT Leader with a B.S. in Computer Science, a minor in Biology, and a passion for learning.