Writing a Novel Using AI — OpenAI ChatGPT

How to write a novel using AI (OpenAI ChatGPT)

Sung Kim
Geek Culture

--

I always wanted to write a great American fantasy novel, but working many years at different companies made me more of a technical writer. I can provide detailed step-by-step instructions required to accomplish a task that is short and concise, but writing a novel is completely different where writing simple things like the banter between characters is challenging. Well, I can write “Hi, How are you? Nice weather today.”

So, I recently (November 30, 2022) came across a news article where OpenAI released ‘ChatGPT’ AI system (https://openai.com/blog/chatgpt/), which interacts with you in a conversational way. So, I decided to use it to write a fantasy novel for myself.

Created using Stability.AI DreamStudio

If you are wondering, I came to the conclusion that AI (OpenAI ChatGPT) cannot write a fantasy novel for me, but it can provide a rough outline of a novel if you know how to prompt (i.e., prompt engineering) it a certain way. Someone said it best, it is like working with a very junior/bad ghostwriter where every page of a novel requires many interactions (i.e., prompts) and re-writes.

I used the following approach to write a novel using AI:

  1. Instruction to AI
  2. Create a world

--

--

Sung Kim
Geek Culture

A business analyst at heart who dabbles in ai engineering, machine learning, data science, and data engineering. threads: @sung.kim.mw