Accessing My Home Linux Desktop using FreeNX From My New Office

Dan Wieringa
The Geeklimit Archives
2 min readJun 14, 2006

Yups, it’s my second day at work. I got a new job, for which I was interviewed last week, and as it seems all went well. It’s an investment consultancy company and I am positioned in Business Development Department, the heart of the structure as was described to me. Nops, I am not working as some IT guy here, though I will surely, with time, advice and recommend on what and how we should organize, in regard to software, and hopefully to make them switch to more alternative open source tools wherever possible. I am more into marketing and business development side of the company. It’s a respectable organization with nice team and people and hope to see myself here for sometime.

The reason I decided to write this is as I sat behind my desk, Windows greeted me. What else can you expect. All the desktops are running Windows, plus think couple are Macs. And on top of that the antivirus application, in this case Kaspersky, was expired, so I downloaded the free version of AVG Anti-Virus from Grisoft, which also has a free version for Linux. As I started missing my SUSE desktop, last night I decided to install FreeNX server on my home computer, which was quite easy. FreeNX is a free software (GPL) implementation of NoMachine’s NX server. And this post is indeed written by launching my Firefox browser that is on SUSE which is running on my home workstation

I am simply amazed how fast this Terminal Server and Remote Access technology is. It’s nearly same as if I was sitting behind my desktop at home. Compared to other such products, and I have tried few on Linux and Windows, NX is much much faster and it has the support of SSH and SSL enryption as well

Sadly I wasn’t able to hear music that is located on my computer, neither watch video ’cause of very low frame rate

:)

Soon: A Howto to follow on installing FreeNX on SUSE Linux 10.1 and some information on available free NX Clients from NoMachine.

--

--