Now 100% Edgy

Dan Wieringa
The Geeklimit Archives
1 min readFeb 5, 2007

I’ve been testing a dual-boot setup on my home/work laptop for the last week with WinXP and Xubuntu. I have to say, I’ve been enjoying it. Some parts are challenging, but simple searches on Google have given me answers from a very helpful community!

I have had *zero* reason to boot into my WinXP partition this past week. I’ve been able to remote into any machine I’ve needed, Been able to continue using our webmail interface as I like to do, and have been able to tie into our internal IM service with Gaim.

I’m so impressed with this distro that I’ve decided to go 100% Linux. On my 2Ghz/1GB/40Gig HD laptop, I think I have sufficient performance to use the full-blown mainline Ubuntu distro, and am on it full-time now!

It’s a pretty cool feeling to finally be 100% on Linux. I’ve still got over 1300 users and 400 machines I support by myself, so I really need this to work smoothly. I also want to continue doing the same things at home like listening to podcasts, etc.

I’ll be posting my solutions to any issues I run into. The Dell Inspiron 700m has a few little quirks to iron out, it’s working well for all the major stuff.

--

--