Do you want to start your own LEGO Star Wars collection? Consider getting any of these recommended sets.

I haven’t been a collector for long, but I’m a hard-core Star Wars fan since I saw Episode VI in the cinema when I was 5 years old. I didn’t know it then, but a LEGO collection was in my long distant future.

Pablo Rigazzi
GeekNotDead

--

You could’ve felt the call while you were a kid, or during your mid-thirties. It doesn’t matter when you started your LEGO Star Wars collection, there’s are a number of sets that you definitely love collecting, because they’re emblematic in a sense, because they’re just beautiful to build and display, or simply because everybody has one and now you have to (sometimes it works for me).

I’ve been going through dozens of collections posted online by LEGO Star Wars collectors, and these following sets represent in a general sense, what you can find out there and add to your own collection.

10. Imperial Shuttle Tydirium (75094)

Let’s start with one of the most beautiful ships in the entire Star Wars Saga. You can spot this ship several times during the old trilogy, especially when our heroes are traveling to Endor, piloted by Han Solo.

This LEGO set is the “cheaper” version of the UCS Imperial Shuttle (10212), a set with extreme attention to detail, but already discontinued and quite complicated to find (also a bit pricey starting at $760).

9. UCS Super Star Destroyer (10221)

This isn’t the set with most pieces that you would find, but believe me that you wouldn’t guess it from the impact this set produces when it’s displayed.
Darth Vader’s command ship, the Executor, was a Super Star Destroyer that fell into the Second Death Star during the Battle of Endor in Episode VI.

Did I mentioned that this set looks amazing on display?

8. AT-AT Walker (75054)

Oh boy, how I wanted to have an AT-AT since I was a little kid. Even the protagonist And not only because they’re the “most heavily armored ground vehicle in the Imperial Army”, but because the lead character in E.T. had one as a toy!

Once built and displayed, the AT-AT just looks amazing, standing tall in a menacing position (if you're a proud imperialis), or just plain face planted on a snowy landscape (if you’re a rebel scum).

7. UCS Sandcrawler (75059)

You won’t probably even recall a Sandcrawler that much from Episode IV, except for the fact that it’s full with Jawas and they sell C3-PO and R2-D2 to Luke Skywalker, but the LEGO version of this vehicle is full-packed with details.

It features several removable sections, a ramp, two cranes and a pretty detailed bridge.

6. Millennium Falcon The Force Awakens (75105)

A beautiful representation of one of the most iconic ships in the entire Star Wars Universe, as it is presented during The Force Awakens. This ship is just GREAT.

If features a full interior and a couple of aged Han Solo and Chewbacca. You can still buy this set for a reasonable price and I suggest you do it right now because it’s really hard to love Star Wars and LEGO, and not own this ship.

5. UCS Slave I (75060)

When I bought this set I was doubting if I shouldn’t buy the UCS Tie Fighter (75095) instead, but I decided on this Bounty Hunter ship. You wouldn’t believe me how happy I am with that decision!

This ship may look awkward, but it’s a BEAUTIFUL experience to build it. Not many other sets will teach you building techniques for weird shapes like this one.

It looks great on display, and you get 4 amazing minifigures with it, plus a Han Solo in carbonite!

4. Rebel U-Wing Fighter (75155)

I’ve got to be honest with you: the first time I saw the concept of a U-Wing I hated it. It was probably 5 to 6 months before Rogue One was released, and I felt Lucasfilms was really stretching the “Letter-Wing ship” concept.

But after seeing the movie and understanding the importance of this ship (and how a great build it is), I changed my mind and now it’s in the fourth position of my recommended list. And believe me, you won’t get a better size/price relation with other than this set.

3. Poe’s X-Wing Fighter (75102)

Poe Dameron is one hell of a pilot. And his Black X-Wing is one hell of a starfighter. Although this LEGO set design quite mimics the one of the X-Wing Starfighter (9493), it features the new “half-engines” of the new generation X-Wings and a different mechanism for the fold of the wings.

Beware, building sets with most black pieces can cause strain on your eyes, but it’s a good starting point for a full collection of starfighters.

2. UCS Red Five X-Wing Starfighter (10240)

If we’re going to talk about a collection of X-Wings, there isn’t any other set better that this one. The Red Five, Luke Skywalkers’ call sign during the Battle of Yavin (given to him due to the fact that the “old” Red Five dies during the Battle of Scarif in Rogue One). This ship is a thing of beauty.

I’m still looking for a way to buy this set because next to the following entry, it’s one of my favourite ships ever. And LEGO made a fantastic job recreating it.

1. UCS Millennium Falcon (10179)

The golden jewel of any Star Wars collection. There isn’t many people that can proudly say they own this 5200+ pieces set. Mostly because it’s been discontinued for years now, but also because it’s resale price can very well go beyond US $3000.

You won’t find a more iconic ship and LEGO set than this one. You will find that owners of this set go long dinstances to display it in a central location on their houses.

Finding the right original pieces for this set is so darn difficult (many of them were made only for this set and never reintroduced by another one) so several fans just adapt to modern times and recreate this set in a different color set.

This First Order Special Ops Millennium Falcon looks pretty slick.
Some people go long ways to have a UCS Millennium Falcon. Really long long ways.

I'm in the process of finishing buying all the pieces for mine, but if you already own this set, please, I want to be your friend.

Thank you so much for reading this article. If you enjoyed it, I’ll kindly ask you to recommend it by clicking the 💚 icon below so other Medium users could benefit for it.

If you want to get in touch with me, let me know by starting a conversation in the comments area or follow me on Twitter.

--

--

Pablo Rigazzi
GeekNotDead

Me gusta mucho programar'); DELETE * FROM users;--