My Crochet Story | Learn to Crochet- Yarns and Patterns

GeekyAlien Editor
GeekyAlien
Published in
3 min readJun 4, 2018

By Jilna Nijesh

It was almost 13 years back; I was studying in 7th class the school was located very close to my village. One day our art teacher came to our class to introduce a new craft work, it was crocheting. Very curiously we were watching, while she deeply put her effort to teach basic concepts of crochet works in both practical and theoretical way. like, everyone, I was quite interested to watch it. But I couldn’t grasp even a “single knot” what she really teaching. Meantime I was very upset, why because my friends were able to catch-up and follow her as suitably. However, I didn’t give up. I tried a lot. At last, it ends up with the hook get bent.

The important twist was come after exactly one year later. One of my cousin sister came to settle near my home basically they were born and brought up north part of India as we know that north Indians are often interested to modify their houses with lots of crochet arts. On the function of her housewarming I saw some of their crochet works hanged on the wall of her new house. While seeing it my desires came out again. Before leaving the house I asked her to teach me the basic thoughts of crochet works. From her, I learned the basic lessons of stitches. Later one day my aunt surprises me with a gift which is full of woollen yarn with five different colours in a bag. Using that I made different crochet patterns and gifted to my friends and relatives on many different special occasions.

My Crochet Works

There are so many cool free crochet patterns available in various related websites. Usually, I don’t have much patience, but I keen to be patient while I engaged in to untangle the yarn. Importantly nowadays I am much more capable to do some quick, easy and beautiful crochet projects and I found lots of value in skills like crocheting, knitting……I proudly say that I have improved a lot after several years of expertise in preparing different types of crochet works. I love to crochet at any time my hands be free! Does it make me a hipster?

Have you thought about learning crocheting? don’t be afraid! As you know earlier my cousin taught me few basic things like a chain, single crochet, and double crochet, further I used to search and depend on YouTube to study most modern crochet techniques and methods. The Crocheting really keeps me from unravelling.

It took almost a year to achieve my dream come true. When I dropped it, surprisingly I got a chance to achieve it. As Paulo Coelho said “When we want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it “

“When we want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it “ — Paulo Coelho

From my experience I can say that doing or learning crochet works is not a rocket science, it just matters of individual interests, efforts and time constraints.

Crocheting is a bit like being magician…. You mumble to yourself waggle a stick around and no one else has a clue how you did it….!!!!!!

Expansion of CROCHET in my view is “Creativity Relaxation Outward Challenge Enjoyable Therapeutic”

Crocheting isn’t just a hobby, in a ball of yarn is the potential to make a dream that you have come true…..

I can make anything with a yarn and hook, what is your superpower??

I would positively accept your valuable suggestions to improve and enhance my skill of craft works. Share them with me using the comment box below.

See also: Top 5 Books Every Woman Should Read

Originally published at geekyalien.com on June 4, 2018.

--

--

GeekyAlien Editor
GeekyAlien
0 Followers
Editor for

Read - Write - Explore - Passion - Live - Life