12,000 Followers

Mike Essig
Other Voices
Published in
1 min readJan 4, 2019
Ta-Da!!! — WordPress.com

About a day ago, I reached 12,000 Medium followers. That’s about the size of an army division. It certainly is a milestone, especially for a mere poet. I want to thank those who have followed me over the past three years.

But, nothing about Medium is ever simple or logical. Consider: with 12,000 followers, my poems generally receive about 100 views. The question is, where are those other 11,900 followers?

Over a year ago, there was a period when I, and many others, were getting up to 50 new followers per day. This went on for a while, quickly ran up huge numbers, and then ceased. I feel sure that this was some sort of manipulation by Medium to make it seem larger and denser quickly. I don’t know the how, bots have been suggested, but it’s easier to imagine the why. At some point, Medium will be sold or go public. No doubt its size will be a factor in its valuation.

So, I am more than a little doubtful about my 12,000. Still, to those of you who are flesh and blood, thank you for reading and please stop by again soon. mce

--

--

Mike Essig
Other Voices

Honorary Schizophrenic. Recent refugee. Displaced person. Old white male. Confidant of cassowaries.