November 13th 2017, at Ó Bhéal

A Present

SouthpawPoet
Other Voices
Published in
1 min readNov 15, 2017

--

Today I have received an unexpected gift.

Artist Linda Ibbotson took a picture of me while reading a short poem in response to the five-words prompt contest at Ó Bhéal and the event’s toastmaster tagged me in the picture.

It took me by surprise and it gave me the bumps because I had never seen myself this way and it is really beautiful when someone “sees you” and shares that vision with you.

Now that I can see it too, this is part of my identity.

It’s been one of the best gifts I’ve ever received.

Now I only wish I had put a proper writer’s notebook in my bag that night to write the poem instead of doing it on my phone… ;)

--

--

SouthpawPoet
Other Voices

The Left Hand of God is a Poet. Happy in the humble service of the Word.