A Shameless Plea

Mike Essig
Other Voices
Published in
1 min readMar 30, 2018
telegraph.co.uk

Poets, like Blanche DuBois, are often reliant on the kindness of Strangers. I come to you in that spirit.

I abandoned the Medium Partner program because I wanted to make my work as accessible as possible to as many readers as possible.

I stopped adding PayPal pleas to my poems because it felt like begging on a regular basis.

I live on $1440 dollars per month. Almost, but not quite enough. Normally, I get by. March and April are my strarving months. Starving is not character building, it is just hungry. Anyway, I have no character left to build.

So, if you are a fan of my work or have ever gotten any joy from it, I’m asking you to make a donation to:

https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/bookgardener. I only ask that you do it as soon as possible.

Anything: a buck or two or ten or a million will be appreciated.

I think that coming to you directly when in need instead of soliciting you after every poem is more honest.

Thank you to all who have contributed in the past.

I hope you agree. Please, if you are broke yourself, don’t contribute.

Thanks,

Mike

--

--

Mike Essig
Other Voices

Honorary Schizophrenic. Recent refugee. Displaced person. Old white male. Confidant of cassowaries.