Another afternoon in our kitchen

Another question that can’t be answered

Jack Herlocker
Other Voices
1 min readDec 30, 2018

--

“What use coffee
When it’s decaf?”
You asked me, disdain
Oozing between each syllable,
Wrapping your question in
Judgement and contempt.

Tired and aching from
Another day fighting you
In my head, I took
The boiling water to pour
Into the mug of instant,
Replied, “You wouldn’t understand,”
To the monster in my mind,
Stirred the crystals into
Gently accepting liquid,
Lifted the mug to my face,
Inhaled the friendly, welcoming scent,
And careful sipped the caress
Of loving flavor on my tongue.

For Tre and Nanci

Thank you for the inspiration, dear lady!

--

--

Jack Herlocker
Other Voices

Husband & retiree. Developer, tech writer, & IT geek. I fill what’s empty, empty what’s full, and scratch where it itches. Occasionally do weird & goofy things.