Corvus: Spirit Animal

Mike Essig
Other Voices
Published in
May 20, 2021
Some One

They have always closely followed me.
Sturdy, intelligent, vigilant, free.
Dripping on wires in damp Tennessee.
Fluffed against the Pennsylvania rain.
Their eyes follow my struggles and pain.
Always in groups of two or three.
Cawing out warnings in the first light.
Darkness made physical in the night.
A murderous gathering of fowl delight.
Never, ever have they gone away.
I don’t know what they are trying to say.
They are waiting patiently for something,
some perfect song I can never sing,
something I must not have to give.
Undaunted, they return every day.
Observing me try to find the way.
Black eyes watching me try to live.

--

--

Mike Essig
Other Voices

Honorary Schizophrenic. Recent refugee. Displaced person. Old white male. Confidant of cassowaries.