Dear Crush…

Emanuel Mwangi
Other Voices
Published in
2 min readSep 6, 2017
photo source; http://darlingsofvenus.blogspot.co.ke

Ever since we started talking, I feel some kind of a way,

I feel like I want to talk to you all the time,

You make an introvert feel like opening up without the fear of feeling naked,

I want to call you and ask about your fears,

Have deep conversations as I get to know you more,

Set up late dinner and take you to a poetry showcase in one of these evenings,

Hold arms in the auditorium,

I want to do those things that an introvert despises,

You’re beautiful and your thinking arouses me,

You’re outgoing hence sociable… I’m not sociable and you could teach me a lot,

There’s a lot I wanna tell you but as an introvert I have to reserve some for my self,

But I’ll write about it,

About how I thought you were the one,

How I always checked if you had texted me every morning,

How I’ve pictured the both of us crossing streets of Nairobi hand in hand,

How I’ve pictured us sited next to each other on a bus with so many empty seats,

How I’ve postponed dropping by your workplace almost every morning,

How I’ve thought your name could really match well with my middle name,

How my pulse beats with the sounds of your name every time I think of calling you,

The way I’ve fallen for you is not normal for humanoids like us,

That nigga Cupid shot an arrow through my heart and it’s now wounded by affection for you, 🌹,

You have the antidote but the pain sometimes makes it feel good so I wanna keep it,

I want to keep you but you don’t wanna stay,

My soul now feels like a ghost town,

The light that you shone on this heart is off and others can’t get in now,

What do I do to get the trust,

What do I do to stop pissing you off,

What do I do with this sprinkle of anxiety,

I’ll spend eaon writing about you,

Of how close I was,

To get what mama always asked me to take home,

A girl who’s a complete package,

From generosity, wisdom, patience and knows how to cook…

Now tell me you’ll tag along,

Now tell me I’m not circling in the desert,

Looking for an oasis that is you,

Tell me I’m not in a love triangle,

Tell me why you’re holding back,

Tell me where I’m miscalculating,

Tell me,

Tell me in deep details,

Tell me as we stare under the street lights in a quiet night,

Tell me on the rooftop as the stars stare enviously at your eyes,

Quench this thirst…

Cause I’m about to drain all my emotions, 🌹

--

--