I’m not serious. https://unsplash.com/photos/2Ts5HnA67k8

Don’t say I’m serious

SouthpawPoet
Other Voices
Published in
1 min readDec 6, 2017

--

Don’t tell me I look serious
That makes me think
People say I’m serious,
when I feel I am not

I know my gaze is fixed
but it’s not upon you
I’m staring at
an invisible wall

At the back of my mind

I look at the wiped board
and I still can read
the words
that were written before

How can you say I look serious?
I sometimes feel like a clown

Maybe I’m figuring you out
Maybe I’m far away
Maybe I’m too present, I scare you
Maybe you are blurred.

Do I make you feel uncomfortable?
Do you want me to tell a joke?

You say I’m serious
Because I keep silent and
when I speak, I speak slow,
and in a low tone?

You don’t know me at all.

--

--

SouthpawPoet
Other Voices

The Left Hand of God is a Poet. Happy in the humble service of the Word.