Fiery Faith

Kittie Phoenix
Other Voices
Published in
1 min readSep 30, 2017
Flames available courtesy of Pixabay

I used to dance in the fire,
Reveling in the flames licking my skin
As the staccato crackle set a calypso tempo hard to beat.

But I was never warm,
And I shivered and shook
Much like I imagined all the bystanders did.

They had to be so cold,
And their lives looked so plain.
But I was there alone in the center.

Blood boiled,
Body broke,
As my brain changed.

My foot perched on a blistering coal,
And I spun one last weary, dry camel,
Then I set my eyes outside the fire.

Inhaling the last glorious breath of scalding steam,
I turned my burning heart toward the distant ice people,
And I made one final leap of faith.

In response to a meme that came across my Facebook feed. Jm Storm: “they watched as she danced in the flames and they wondered why she wasn’t burnt / and she would glance at them and ponder how they coped with the cold”

--

--

Kittie Phoenix
Other Voices

Teacher | Writer | Parent | Spouse | Thinker | Dreamer | Wanderer | Mischief Explorer | Country Mouse (more tags to follow over time)