Photo by bhuvanesh gupta on Unsplash

Hands, and Streets, and Memories

Jack Herlocker
Other Voices
Published in
2 min readJul 15, 2019

--

I remember how
You used to hold my hand when
We walked along our street.

I never noticed
When we moved from one street
To another,
So focused was I
On the pavement,
Watching for anything
That might make us stumble.

I never understood that
The rules were different
On different streets.

I never understood that
The things I had done before,
The us I had done before,
Was all wrong now.

I never understood that
You needed me on the old street,
But on the new one,
Not so much.

I never realized
When you let go my hand
You were wandering away.

I never perceived
I was lost
Until someone else
Found me
On a new street.

I like my new street.
When I get too close to traffic,
Someone takes my hand,
Whispers assurances,
Then kisses me
Like I am all she wants.

Now I look up and see
The street as
Hanging flowers,
Bright colors,
Happy shop windows;
This street works for me.

Good luck on your street.
I do not think your street and mine
Intersect any more.

Sparked by a piece by Ré Harris:

Interesting the response a piece with an entirely different message can spark — old memories and pains. Thanks, Ré!

--

--

Jack Herlocker
Other Voices

Husband & retiree. Developer, tech writer, & IT geek. I fill what’s empty, empty what’s full, and scratch where it itches. Occasionally do weird & goofy things.