Hiding in plain sight

Kathy Jacobs
Other Voices
Published in
2 min readDec 18, 2018
Photo by Nong Vang on Unsplash

When things got rough at home,
To Oz my thoughts would roam
Never Ozma or Dorothy,
But someone yet unknown

When winter storms closed in
Anne became my focus
Traveling back in time
To let my life unwind

On a dragon’s back I flew
Flaming thread high and low
Sometimes helping with a poem
Turned epic teaching song

Interstellar flight took me away too
As far as my imagination could reach
Other times I hid in Middle Earth
In the tiniest of hobbit holes

For a while, all trips
Were tesseracts to help
Vicki rescue her dad again
Or Charles Wallace to kythe

Thanks to other friends, I became
A Companion white as snow
Would call in my mind
Off to Valdemar we’d go

Most recently, a crew
Of magicians of a recent kind
Came to help me find
That plastic can be magic

For a time some steampunk
Helped me disappear
Along with a general
With two lives

A lady who studied bones
A boy raised as a wolf
Alive for centuries
Sisters, elves, fairies, people

There were so many others
Friends who saved me then
Who when I need them most
Are only a moment away

I’ve been a reader all my life. For almost as long as I have been reading, I have been dreaming about being in the worlds created by my favorite authors. Think of this piece as a kind of thank you to the people can think up stories so real you want to jump in and live there.

--

--

Kathy Jacobs
Other Voices

💚POMpoet💚 Former software tester, still breaking things. Social Media geek. Former OneNote MVP. Phoenix Mercury fan. Green Bay Packer fan.