Legacy

Mike Essig
Other Voices
Published in
1 min readJul 1, 2019
cellcode.us

for my sons, Matthew and Richard

What of me will be left to you?

Few artifacts; less money.

Incomplete memories of
a man who never found himself,
who never stopped trying.

The time of my life
lived in a century now passing
into the lies of history.

Nothing comprehensive or certain.

Fragments collected against my ruin.
Random photographs, simple junk,
a few books, some journals,
and thousands of poems
you may never read.

Tales of a shaky Odysseus
sailing toward a home unknown.
My uncertain journey from then to now,
and how I came through it all somehow.

All the true fictions I made
to survive in a faltering world
and create the self I became.

Ephemeral words and images.
Nothing to own, possess, or spend.

Remember my imperfections:
Flawed father, failed husband,
dubious warrior, singer of stories.

All I have to leave behind,
living thoughts of a dead brain,
contained in the vessel of my name,
the same name you now carry:

Your worlds, my worlds, the world,
different worlds, but much the same.

--

--

Mike Essig
Other Voices

Honorary Schizophrenic. Recent refugee. Displaced person. Old white male. Confidant of cassowaries.