Little Things

Mike Essig
Other Voices
Published in
1 min readDec 9, 2018
Igor Morski

Angels

An Angel is a person
who arrives unbidden
in broken times
when love seems lost
and opens a channel
to your tested heart,
shuddering in the dark.

Friend or lover,
your soul takes
from that shining face
a chance of hope,
a glimpse of grace.

Ask no questions.
Gratitude and wonder
are the only answer.

*****

First/Last

They say
you never forget
the first person
you bed.

I will not
forget you,
though you
are far away

and dead.

*****

Nothing

Because you don’t exist
I imagine you.

Because you aren’t here,
I long for you.

Because you can’t touch me,
I desire you.

Because you have no voice,
I sing for you.

What else can an old man do?

--

--

Mike Essig
Other Voices

Honorary Schizophrenic. Recent refugee. Displaced person. Old white male. Confidant of cassowaries.