Medium Partner Program

Mike Essig
Other Voices
Published in
1 min readAug 31, 2017
Duh

So, I have been invited to join the Medium Partner Program. Hmm…

Part of me says no poet ever made any money competing with listicles.

Mostly poets never make money in any case.

The only money I make is from donations, for which I am grateful.

Although I have nearly 10,000 followers, oops, fans, My poems are usually read by the same hundred or so people. If each gave me 50 claps per poem, that would be 5,000 claps. Hard to imagine that competing with a solid article on Eleven Ways To Brush Your Teeth Before Swiping On Tinder.

But it would be interesting to find out.

Is there a single poet out there who has made a buck from this?

Still thinking about it.

What do you think?

If you like this piece, and can afford it, please consider donating.

Help keep me on my meds… The voices are mumbling.

--

--

Mike Essig
Other Voices

Honorary Schizophrenic. Recent refugee. Displaced person. Old white male. Confidant of cassowaries.