Emanuel Mwangi
Other Voices
Published in
2 min readFeb 2, 2017

--

ON THE WEDDING NIGHT.

It's not right,
How she isn't my right,
As I don't have the right,
To call her my right,
Nor my shining Knight,

When the time was right,
When the time was ripe,
To make her my wife,
On that night,
High as a kite,
I got into a fight,

She watched in utter shock,
It was almost midnight on the clock,
The night of our wedlock,
As put by the man in the cloak,
Who is a Catholic,
Of a Church under the oak,
Where vows we were to take,

I hit, strangled and kicked the man,
As my Suzanne looked on,
I thought he had touched my Suzanne,
Wondering what was his plan,
If it was to elope with my Suzanne...
To utopia in my imagination,
His arm I swore to burn,
Before the wedding begun,
For placing on my Suzanne his arm,

Blood from his head oozing,
Blood from his neck squirting,
"Please hold him as he is killing!!!"
The women were yelling,
As everybody else was watching,

Suzanne's dress turned to red,
My shirt painted red,
With the intruder's blood,
The priests cloak stained,
As they all stared,
Wondering if the man's dead,
Has his pulse stopped?

My head up I lifted,
To look at my Suzanne,
To get ready for the vows,

Where's she?
Where's Suzanne?
Where did she go?

Through the window I looked,
Off she ran,
Under the dim lights on the streets,
Screaming her lungs out,
Her fiance has taken a life,

She didn't take off the dress,
She hung on a rope,
In her room,
Bloodstains on the floor,
She couldn't get married,
To a murderer!!!

Oh my God!
What did I do?

Emanuel ✍

--

--