One Brick at a Time

Terijo
Other Voices
Published in
9 min readDec 20, 2019

--

No, this isn’t a poem. Sorry, folks. My muse for poetry is still asleep. I’ll wake her up as soon as I can, promise! This is just another chapter in my story. It’s a little long, but, it’s heartfelt. Thanks for reading.

As many of my readers may know, back in late 2007 I took a chance to re-start my life. I had ballooned to nearly 300 pounds and found it difficult to walk across a street in the time allotted by the traffic lights. I had little self-respect, considered myself unattractive in the extreme, and generally just tried to hide as much as possible.

I elected to undergo Gastric By-Pass surgery and it changed my life.

By the end of 2008, I had lost nearly 110 pounds and felt like a new person entirely. Everything about me changed. Most changes were small, insignificant even, but, the changes I made spoke volumes about how I had been feeling about myself, and how that had changed without me consciously realizing it.

Before the weight loss, I would typically wear little to no makeup, almost no jewelry, and wore my hair in a bun more often than not. My personality hasn’t changed much, I’m still as irascible as I was back then, just as hot-tempered, just as unwilling to stand by if I can stop injustice from happening in front of me.

--

--

Terijo
Other Voices

Tread carefully. Waking the Red-head is still not a good idea…💋