Point Of View

Mike Essig
Other Voices
Published in
1 min readDec 23, 2019
Magritte

Why I avoid the now ubiquitous Lyric I

In my feeble attempts at poetry
I avoid the first person,
because I don’t know him.

The personal point of view
cannot help but skew.

The reader will always mistake
the writer for what is said.

The I that writes these words is not
the I I am, but one voice from a head
of varied schizophrenic mumbling.

Identity never trustworthy.

Do not look to my I for truth.
Too many mouths for certainty.
No one voice can know it all.

Old men will always disappoint.
Their memories of any one event,
a jumble of multiple possibilities,
never absolute, never for sure.

Truth belongs to the young,
always certain of themselves,
who they are, where they are going.

My I must swallow many rocks
to settle the gut of remembering;
consider endless alternatives
before daring to speak.

My I is scattered like seeds
before the gusts of spring.

My I is a boat made of water.
My I is a catalog of doubts.
My I fears to give instruction.
My I disdains all authority.

My I is an I I can’t know.

Dubious, anxious, perplexed,
My I is a path I can’t go,

so,

I always avoid the first person.

--

--

Mike Essig
Other Voices

Honorary Schizophrenic. Recent refugee. Displaced person. Old white male. Confidant of cassowaries.