Thank You, Donald Trump (revised)

I must have a dark side also if I am to be whole, and inasmuch as I become conscious of my Shadow I also remember that I am a human being like any other.~Carl Jung; Modern Man in Search of a Soul; Page 35.

Jeffrey Field
Other Voices
2 min readOct 19, 2018

--

Psychology Of Antagonism © 2012 J Karl Bogartte

Thank you for revealing my saurian tail,
my lizard tail,
tail of my ancestors.

I thought it was amputated.
Monkeys parade their tails.
I do not parade my tail.
You have shown me my tail.

I cart the past on my back.
My past is a cunning thing.
It drives my present.

I stand in my own light,
I fall into my own traps,
I ridicule the other.

The other?
Who might that be?
Might it be the evil one?

The evil one,
most beautiful,
there’s the conundrum.

Beauty lies hidden there,
in the shadows,
in the darkness.

The devil knows this beauty,
and, in a fit of rage
casts his shadow
upon the luminous.

If your beauty grows,
the dreadful worm will also creep up you,
waiting for its prey.

My ever-present past,
shadowed by demons,
the light dims.

Take note, you people…
“It smiles if we are friendly to it; but if we neglect it, it makes faces at us.”
This is the Donald.

Thank you, Donald,
for this rare opportunity
for your people to gaze
into the face
of absolute evil.

Thank you, Donald,
for allowing me to face my
own absolute evil,
my beloved shadow.

How can I be substantial if I fail to cast a Shadow? I must have a dark side also if I am to be whole; and inasmuch as I become conscious of my Shadow I also remember that I am a human being like any other.
~Carl Jung; Modern Man in Search of a Soul; Page 35.

I have seen the good in you, Donald.
There are reports of your goodness.
You feel.

You labor in the dark.
And, in doing so,
I too labor there.

Ay! There’s the crux.
I willingly sink to your depths.
And so doing, I embrace my shadow.

Civility is done.
Discourtesy the norm.
I willingly throw stones.

And yet, is the fact that
I throw stones
not a suggestion that
you, Donald Trump,
and I,
share the same circumstance?

Could we be friends?
Brothers?
At peace?

On second thought,
forget it, you monster.

--

--

Jeffrey Field
Other Voices

It ain't what you think. Former newsman, car salesman, teacher. Everything is Thou, if you so allow it. You can find some of it at https://youtu.be/w6RtVjMDHzE