The Good Death Of Captain William Strong Eagle

Mike Essig
Other Voices
Published in
2 min readNov 11, 2017
Bell UH-1 Iroquois ‘Huey’

He was a Huey pilot.
I didn’t know him well.
I was only twenty.
He was the first Indian
I had ever met though
he called himself a Skin.
Came from northern Nebraska.
Full blooded Lakota Sioux.
He was tall, strong,
quiet and soft spoken
with a ethereal authority.
He could sense my fear.
At the end of the first day
over An Loc I was
beyond fear, beyond
terrified, barely functional.
While we refueled
he came over and told me
not to worry. Every day,
he said, was a good day to die.
First time I ever heard
Crazy Horse’s famous phrase.
In the morning, his waddling,
overloaded chopper took
a SAM missile up the ass
and totally disintegrated:
no wreckage, no bodies,
nothing left at all but pink mist.
Just a puff of pink mist
where a warrior had ridden
his sky pony into battle.
There is nothing
really left to say
except I hope that for him
it was a very good day.
*****
An Loc, Vietnam, April, 1972

If you like this piece, and can afford it, please consider donating.

I no longer place poems in the Medium Partner Program. If you like my work, this is how you can show it.

--

--

Mike Essig
Other Voices

Honorary Schizophrenic. Recent refugee. Displaced person. Old white male. Confidant of cassowaries.