This is going to change your perception regarding new year resolutions.

Pratik Routray
Other Voices
Published in
3 min readJan 20, 2019

Halfway through the first month of 2019, I know you guys must be supercharged up to have the year of your lives! armed with all your resolutions and schedules

1. No resolutions, please!

I may sound like a pessimist trying to suck optimism out of your lives, but I promise you are better off without them. If you belong to the “pro resolutions” camp, fine go ahead! I am addressing individuals like me who face great difficulty in sticking to their new year resolutions. They kick off January with great enthusiasm, but by the time February rolls, it’s all over.

Photo by whereslugo on Unsplash

Every new year we leave a trail of unfulfilled resolutions, as we move on to “new resolutions”, for the new year. Resolutions require a lot of character and patience to achieve. The word character means “the ability to carry a resolution, long after the excitement of beginning the task has passed”. New year resolutions are limited by time, we give ourselves only a year to achieve big goals which take time, before abandoning them due to lack of commitment. Let’s make “life resolutions” instead of new year resolutions.

Life resolution can be anything which you truly want to achieve. It's not a trend or a fad, rather a goal which makes you happy. Let's take a personal example to make the meaning more clear:- My life resolution is to contribute to the society through my writing so that my memory stays long after my soul has left for the other world! ( This is also part of my medium bio). The key is to identify your life resolutions and stick with them for the entire course!

2. Life resolutions can be fatal!

Just like every coin has two faces, every good thing has a negative aspect to it. The very advantage of life resolutions is its shortcomings. Sounds contradictory? hear me out, please. Life resolutions give you abundant time to achieve them this can lead to procrastination and lack of direction. It is a good thing to have life resolutions but procrastinating defeats the very purpose. In order to keep yourself in check, you need to set micro-goals.

Divide your big life goals into small steps which makes it easier to progress and make the bigger goals less of a daunting task. I am going to give one more personal example to stress more on this point. When I decided to start writing regularly from January 2019, I made it a rule to publish at least 2 pieces of work( articles, essays or poetry). This way I keep a steady flow in the amount of work I generate every week along with my regular undergraduate college to take care of ( I am in 2nd year of computer science course!).

I am really happy to share my personal journey and thoughts with my readers. I hope you develop a new perspective towards resolutions and apply it in your lives, best of luck!

Please 👏 clap if you found this valuable, and 👉 follow me for more writing like this,as I share my experience navigating through life and I hope we can grow together. Peace.

Photo by Kent Lee on Unsplash

--

--

Pratik Routray
Other Voices

poet,writer and haiku addict,my goal:to leave behind a collection of memories through my various works, which will endure long after I have vanished from earth!