Wag the Dog

Kittie Phoenix
Other Voices
Published in
2 min readJul 6, 2018
Image courtesy of Pixabay

Introduction

I don’t mind giving minorities equal rights and equal treatment. It’s when a small minority rises up and requests something illogical hiding it in logic that I have a quandry. It usually causes more problems than it solves. This was written in response to a tail wagging the dog scenario in my life; after its creation, I found it fit some situations in the lives of some friends. However, I sent it to a dog lover to review. Big mistake! I held it for a bit, but after the piece Patsy Starke did about constipated dogs (which I did appreciate), I figured it was time to pull it out and run it (just not where my favorite dog lover could see).

***To clarify, it is not commentary about any one political or social situation currently in the news; it has more to do with the daily administrivia in various settings, administrivia which makes no sense to me with the way I’m wired.

WARNING: This might be triggering for dog owners.

Poem Body

Wag the dog, wag the dog.

It won’t sniff butts anymore.

Wag the dog, wag the dog.

Is it in the dog house?

Wag the dog, wag the dog.

It’s eaten its own vomit.

Wag the dog, wag the dog.

It hangs its head.

Wag the dog, wag the dog.

Its tail drags between its legs.

Wag the dog, wag the dog.

Cherubim, go where packs won’t run.

--

--

Kittie Phoenix
Other Voices

Teacher | Writer | Parent | Spouse | Thinker | Dreamer | Wanderer | Mischief Explorer | Country Mouse (more tags to follow over time)