Pam: Early Onset Spouse
Other Voices
Published in
1 min readMay 28, 2017

--

What does anything mean?

photo by Kalen Emsley

Waiting for my running group I took a call from Dad. After telling him what I was doing (about to run around the Lake) he asked if he could come along.

You live 600 miles away. Your knees hurt when you walk around the house. You haven’t run in years.

These responses are 1) mean 2) technically true 3) not answers to the real question.

The real question is can we do something together? Do you want to see me?

The true answer is yes.

Yes, we can go to the lake when you're here.

Yes, I am coming to visit you soon.

Yes, I remember when you took me to the lake on early summer mornings before you went to work. You drove the boat, I skied behind, water as smooth as glass.

--

--

Pam: Early Onset Spouse
Other Voices

Healthy, usually happy, wife to Rick who has Early Onset Alzheimer’s Disease. Daughter to dad w/AD. Figuring it out as we go along. www.earlyonsetspouse.com