Apple Music Classical app: Initial impressions

toddogasawara
GeezerViews
Published in
2 min readMar 28, 2023

At 1700 HST on March 27, 2023 I was surprised to be notified that the new Apple Music Classical app was ready to download since its launch date was announced earlier as March 28. My guess is that those of us who “pre-ordered” this free app got the early download.

A couple of notes to keep in mind:

  • The app is designed for the iPhone’s display. However, it works fine on an iPad and you can expand the app in portrait mode to see the interface on its larger display
  • As with the Apple Music app, Music Classical’s spatial audio only works on i-devices that support it. For example, the iPad Pro 2019 and the iPad mini 5 do not support spatial audio. The iPad mini 6 and recent iPads and iPhones do.
  • You need a headphone that supports spatial audio to experience it: E.g., iPods Pro or Max.
  • I thought a symphony or quartet would be best to use with spatial audio. However, perhaps because of my unsophisticated ears, it was easiest for me experience spatial audio with a solo piano.
  • You need, I believe, an Apple Music or Apple One (which includes Apple Music) subscription to take full advantage of Music Classical.
  • The Music Classical app does NOT currently support downloads.

As an poor unsophisticated person, I hoped Apple might provide some kind of educational material. And, yes, it does! Music Classical includes a 9-part The Story of Classical companion guide that explains basic terms, overview of instruments and the various classical periods. Each of the parts is about one hour long.I’m excited to know that in my old age, I can get a classical music education.

--

--

toddogasawara
GeezerViews

Editor MobileViews; retired former State of Hawaii Director of Operations for IT