What I Wanted To Wear: Madison Square Garden Edition

Tyler Ford
Gender 2.0
Published in
2 min readAug 13, 2015

--

Left: What I wanted to wear / Right: What I wore

At concerts, I like to feel comfortable. I have sensory processing disorder and am easily overstimulated by crowds, noise, and lights, so I often like to keep my outfits simple: jeans and a soft t-shirt. However, I know a ton of people at the particular show I’m going to, and I know most of them will read this outfit as “masculine” and will refer to me as a guy if I wear it. Nothing I wear is ever read as neutral; I, myself, am rarely read as neutral even to the people (friends included) I repeatedly come out to. As a result, I change into a tight crop top. Even though it’s not what I’m in the mood to wear, I prefer the ways in which people take one second longer to think before they speak about me when I wear one — even if it means tripping over pronouns and gendered language.

**I use the gender neutral pronouns: they/them**

Feeling deep ambivalence about how we dress is something the trans and gender non-conforming communities experience acutely, but it’s not just about us. We’d love to hear from everybody about how they navigate self presentation each day.

To see more posts in the What I Wanted to Wear series, click on the tag below. When you’re ready to add your own post, click the response button, upload your photos, and tell us about your self presentation. Remember to use the tag WIWTW when you hit Publish.

If you’re not near a computer, download Medium’s iOS app or Android app to write your What I Wanted To Wear post on your phone.

--

--

Tyler Ford
Gender 2.0

agender writer, speaker, media personality // contributor @RookieMag, @MTV // pronouns: they/them // for business inquiries & booking: tywrent at gmail