#WhatIWantedToWear: Auntiji

Alok Vaid-Menon
Gender 2.0
Published in
3 min readAug 11, 2015

--

What I Wanted to Wear (Left); What I Actually Wore (Right)

Here’s the thing: being fabulous doesn’t protect you. Compliments don’t keep you safe. The thing about being a transfeminine person is that everyone always remarks on how “fierce” or “fabulous” you are, but few people ask how you are getting home. Every day I look at my closet I have to ask myself how I’m getting home. Every day I look at my closet I have to ask myself how I’m feeling that day. Am I ready to endure constant street harrassment? Am I ready to be gawked at? Am I ready to have people take photos of me without their consent? Am I coming home late?

I hate how our society evaluates peoples’ gender identities based off of what they look like. If I had it my way I would dress femme every single day. But I don’t, because I can’t. Often I’m too afraid. Often I’m too tired. When I look at people on the subway I try to think about all of the outfits that they would have worn, could have worn, how they could have fashioned their bodies if we lived in a world where being different is demonized.

Today I had a photo shoot in my house. What I love about being at home is that I can wear whatever the hell I want! I’m that girl who will call you over for tea and be wearing the most extravagant outfit. People will ask: “Where are you going?” I wonder: Why do we have to be leaving somewhere to be dressed up? Being at home makes me feel most safe.

When I left the house after the shoot I decided to wear the outfit on the right. I knew that people would probably read me as a gay man. But I knew that would probably get me home without being followed. Sometimes that feels like enough.

**I use the gender neutral pronouns “they/them**

Feeling deep ambivalence about how we dress is something the trans and gender non-conforming communities experience acutely, but it’s not just about us. We’d love to hear from everybody about how they navigate self presentation each day.

To see more posts in the What I Wanted to Wear series, click on the tag below. When you’re ready to add your own post, click the response button, upload your photos, and tell us about your self presentation. Remember to use the tag WIWTW when you hit Publish.

If you’re not near a computer, download Medium’s iOS app or Android app to write your What I Wanted To Wear post on your phone.

--

--