28 Top Surgery Tips From A Recently De-Boobed Person

You’re about to do an awesome thing. Here are some helpful tips and tricks to help get you ready.

theoaknotes
Gender From The Trenches

--

Hi there. My name’s Oak, and I had double incision top surgery last week on October 8th. I’m five days post-op at the time of writing this article. I want to get all of my surgery tips to you while they’re fresh in my mind. Here is a compilation of advice from me and from my mom (my caretaker).

Please keep in mind that my experience with top surgery may differ from yours, but most of these tips should be fairly universal. I’m 19, able-bodied, and thin. I had double incision because it was the right choice in terms of the results I was looking for, but I qualified for peri. I was a B cup before surgery. As the saying goes, your mileage may vary.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to ask me in the comments.

During the Days Leading Up to Surgery

  1. If your caretaker is currently working, have them fill out their Family and Medical Leave (FMLA) paperwork as soon as possible. You don’t want this to become a major hassle two days before your operation.
  2. Watch an animated video of the procedure you’ll be receiving. If you aren’t squeamish…

--

--

theoaknotes
Gender From The Trenches

Black, queer, and anxiously fabulous. Words: Jessica Kingsley Publishers, Psychology Today, An Injustice!, Prism & Pen, Gender from the Trenches.