LGBTQ

Ah-hem! May I Have the Floor For A Moment

An ad-hoc mentoring session for self-identified masculine young folx on embracing their unique superpower

Shay D. Potter
Gender From The Trenches

--

Credit: Rawpixel

Every now and again, I like to write to JaQ, short for Jacqueline. JaQ represents the young Gen X or millennial, assigned female at birth, who self identifies with their masculinity. JaQ is not a tomboy or a girl who sometimes plays a little tough. No, see JaQ is male. Well, sort of.

Masculinity is Bold — Be Bold.

Don’t run away from it embrace it.

This morning, while finishing my mocha-flavored cappuccino with a little whip cream, a thought came to mind.

No one ever showed me or explained to me about the power of my kind of masculinity.

That may or may not be the case for you, too. But if it is, I thought we could discuss it a bit.

Hands down, I would have liked to see someone I knew that also was like me. I was looking for someone who had mastered their superpower and could teach me about my masculinity.

I like to think of our kind of masculinity as a, you know, a superpower. Did you ever consider yourself to be a superhero, JaQ?

No… really? Lol

The world never allowed you to believe you have superpowers. Or that a superhero or Disney character could be like you. Yeah, I was in the same boat. I never saw anyone that looked like me growing up either. At least, now, there is TikTok and YouTube Independent TV for more niche audiences.

That probably explains to some degree my mounting confusion with the daily fight I had to endure — be my authentic self, or become its shadow. Like so many, I chose to blend in at all costs.

But, check this out. I’d rather we focus on what YOU will become — your potential and greatness in life.

JaQ, you are made to be great.

How do I know? Your superpower.

I just have to teach you how to harness it. And, how to use it full tilt to win in life.

The kind of superpower that you and I have serves a distinct purpose. Its singular code is to propel you to reach whatever heights you can dream and work towards. It’s special. You with me, JaQ?

But, first, we got to acknowledge that we — me and you — belong here. Yeap, right here, on this amazing planet. And that we are, by design, meant to roam freely in any environment. Like a tiger to the Asian jungles or the lion to the African plains, we too are Qing (king) in our habitat.

That superpower, who we are, is our light. It is our tenacity. It is our aggressiveness. But the best part? Our superpower can dial up or down. It can brighten or dim. It can warm or cool. It can be both moon and sun. Simply put, your superpower is the best of both worlds, JaQ. It is who you are.

So embrace your masculine energy. Embrace that you are designed for rugged terrain. And that you were meant to be bold, so proudly stand out.

But beware. Your superpower is fierce, so use it judiciously, and only with decisive purpose.

Representation Matters

It Then Becomes Possible When You See Yourself.

JaQ, I’m not going to harp on:

But, internalize and be inspired by those words.

I want to add something more tangible for you. I want to show you how our kind of superpower is around us in our everyday life. Sometimes, we just need it called to our attention.

You see, I always felt destined for great things, but I didn’t quite have the self-confidence to know how to make it my reality. As I moved around in this world, I just never saw anyone quite like me in everyday life. That’s why representation matters.

One day, I remember meeting a commander in the field training. She had a short crop set and was absolutely tenacious and aggressive in posture. Soft, she was not. The moment I spotted her, I had to meet her. And when I saluted her and gave her the greeting of the day, my heart swelled up with pride. My light, my superpower, lit up.

See, I had more than an example. I had someone like me, who understood me, that would push me and train me to one day be a commander myself. I never forgot that.

So JaQ, that’s why I want you to meet a few folx that are not famous but are mastering their superpower.

I will start with Judge Shannon Frison.

Copyright @Shannon Frison

Judge Shannon Frison

Chicago-born Frison graduated from Harvard, got her law degree from Georgetown, and served in the United States Marine Corps ranking as a Major. Frison currently serves as Justice of the Massachusetts Superior Court and President of the Massachusetts Black Judges Conference.

Follow on Instagram.

And last but not least, here is a bit about me.

Copyright Shayla D. Potter

Shay D. Potter

A native from Inglewood, California, Shay joined the U.S. Army after graduating from Purdue University with a Computer Information Technology major. As an active-duty officer, she currently specializes in cyber and military intelligence, reaching the rank of Lieutenant Colonel with 19 years of service. Recently published a popular Medium article, I Don’t Want To Be More Male, Just Less Female.

Follow on Instagram.

So, how do you think you can use your superpower? Let me know in the comments.

Believe big!

--

--

Shay D. Potter
Gender From The Trenches

Author | Writer | Veteran. I write about navigating the twists and turns in our daily lives.