Almost Everyone Knows I’m Bisexual. Almost No One Knows I’m Non-Binary

I’m queer in more than one way

W.E.
Gender From The Trenches

--

Photo by Jorge Saavedra on Unsplash

After my sister’s wedding in 2017, I came out as queer for the first time. First, to myself, then to loved ones and then to the rest of the world. I no longer hide the fact that I’m queer.

I post pictures of myself at Pride on Instagram. I proudly walk around with my rainbow purse that one of my sisters bought me for Pride Month. I even sport pro-LGBTQ t-shirts at work. All the important people in my life know I’m queer, and the more time passes, the less I pass for cishet.

However, “queer” is a broad term. At its bare bones, it’s a person who isn’t cisgender and/or straight. This includes a gay cisgender man. A lesbian trans woman. A pansexual non-binary individual, and an array of other identities.

Even though I’m transparent about my queer identity, I still consider myself to be in the closet. Not only because when you’re a member of the LGBTQ+ community you spend your whole life potentially having to come out all over again to each new person you encounter, but also because most of the people who know I’m queer don’t completely understand what my version of queerness entails.

I’m bisexual and non-binary, but most people think I am a bisexual cisgender girl, and they…

--

--

W.E.
Gender From The Trenches

Writer | Life-Long Learner | Advocate | Race | Culture | LGBTQ+ Issues | Mental Health