Enough: There Has To Be A Change

To be transgender is to accept a lifetime of shame, fear, and guilt that societal ignorance has forced upon us — for something we never even chose.

Emma Holiday
Gender From The Trenches

--

Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

After dealing with the shocking discovery that I suffer from gender dysphoria 18 months ago at age 63, I started a very personal journey requiring me to tear apart every single aspect of my life, my beliefs, and who I was as a person. Everything was under intense scrutiny. I was ripping myself apart 24 hours a day, seven days a week, minute by painful minute.

I am still doing it right now.

While on this journey I was stunned to find out I was not, in fact, alone.

I thought I was a freak and I was unable to even talk to my best friend, my wife, about my sudden, explosive realization.

I was transgender.

To be transgender in the world today is to accept a lifetime of shame, fear and guilt that societal ignorance has forced upon us for something that we never chose.

It all happened before we were born. At birth, we joined others that were born gay, with red hair, or being left handed, who…

--

--

Emma Holiday
Gender From The Trenches

After decades of denial I finally answered the question “What’s wrong with me?” The answer is “Nothing”. I am transgender and I am OK.