Freedom!

Why do I need to physically transition?

Emma Holiday
Gender From The Trenches

--

Photo by Aditya Saxena on Unsplash

I have been torturing myself every day, for what feels like every minute, for months with just one question:

“Why do I need to physically transition?”

Rational thought would answer:

“You have come to your deep spiritual truth, that you are a transgender female. Why do you need to make such superficial changes?”

I know that this simple, rational acceptance would be the perfect solution for my family, friends and my world in general…but it doesn’t seem to be my solution. I have dissected my motivation, challenged my heart and finally looked into my soul.

This is not about rational thought. It is about my inner truth. The one that resonates deep within me. The one that I know is truly mine and only mine.

Strangely, as I came to this conclusion, out of nowhere a scene from BRAVEHEART came to mind and I heard Mel Gibson voice screaming in my head:

“Freedom!”

It suddenly became a very simple concept as I applied it to myself. I need the freedom to express who I am without restraint any longer. I have spent my entire life walling up crucial parts…

--

--

Emma Holiday
Gender From The Trenches

After decades of denial I finally answered the question “What’s wrong with me?” The answer is “Nothing”. I am transgender and I am OK.