How Does It Make Any Sense?

When your brain is hard-wired female, but your body develops male

Emma Holiday
Gender From The Trenches

--

Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

I grew up in a strict binary world where transgender people didn’t exist.

Yet, inexplicably, here I am. How does that make any sense?

Four years ago, I was a “normal” male with all the typical male attributes, thoughts and desires. I had always felt a female pull but my sense of being male was strong and pervasive for 60 years.

What explains this new extraordinary need to change from being a man to becoming a woman?

I am not going to debate what is a woman. It is an argument that never ends. How do you identify women based on reproductive organs when some women are born without ovaries or rely on XX chromosomes when some women are born with a Y chromosome yet still have fully functioning female reproductive organs?

I am a trans woman, a woman that is internally gendered female, encased inside a male body… Now let’s move on.

I am not a scientist. I am transgender and I have been dealing with increasingly painful gender dysphoria for the last three years.

It has taken three years of therapy, blood tests, medical examinations, extensive personal research and deep self-analysis to come to my understanding of being…

--

--

Emma Holiday
Gender From The Trenches

After decades of denial I finally answered the question “What’s wrong with me?” The answer is “Nothing”. I am transgender and I am OK.