Life By Calendar: A Road To Disappointment

Existing in a world without firm dates

--

It all seems rather fortuitous that during this period of isolation due to the COVID-19 pandemic that I found myself reading some of my previous attempts at capturing my insights on life and existence as a human being, and that while the circumstances might be extremely dissimilar, my thoughts are valuable for where we find ourselves right now.

I grew up with a rather well-organized mother who learned her skills as a nurse. I’m sure most people would acknowledge that nurses exist around scheduling — everything from shifts, medication, exercise, and so on. It was good for us because we all knew what needed to be done and by when, and if someone else was not around to complete the task, we adapted and compensated.

In the late 80’s I joined the military for a number of reasons, and it made a lot of sense as I was used to living a somewhat structured life. Over three decades of military service got me used to having a full calendar with an ability to work towards milestones… giving me a sense of productivity when each was met, even if only by existing to see the date pass.

The indented text below was written a bit over two years ago when I was at a point in my life where I was being ruled by schedules. For those who have not read my…

--

--

Kathryn Foss
Gender From The Trenches

Kathryn is a consultant, coach and mentor in the areas of diversity and inclusion. Computer engineer, life-long geek, trans-writer.