My Discomfort With Pronouns

It’s not about pronouns; it’s about my difficulty in dealing with other peoples problems with pronouns

Kathryn Foss
Gender From The Trenches

--

Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

I am a relatively patient person, and I am a person who abhors change. This is a beautiful combination, except that it encourages procrastination, although that’s a topic for a different story. I have suffered from anxiety for most of my life, even though for most of it, I did not know that I was suffering from anything.

A lot of my anxiety comes from the unknown, not having enough information to process the situation both logically and emotionally. I am actually better with bad news than no news, as I have something firm to work with.

Being a transgender woman means that I have been dealing with these mental processes for a great number of years, decades actually. The fact that I didn’t come out and start my transition until I was in my mid-40s clearly demonstrates my patience, but it also makes apparent that so long as I did not have the “data” to allow me to process that everything was going to be okay when I transitioned, I did not transition.

I would like to make it clear, that “okay” does not mean perfect or paradise…or even acceptable. It meant more along the lines of that everyone I cared about, including me, had within their power the tools…

--

--

Kathryn Foss
Gender From The Trenches

Kathryn is a consultant, coach and mentor in the areas of diversity and inclusion. Computer engineer, life-long geek, trans-writer.